1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

[Need Advice] Helping Little Brother (College Dropout) Find a Job

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by dharocks, Mar 23, 2012.

1. dharocks

dharocks Contributing Member

Some background (fair warning: long read, scroll down to the bottom for tl;dr version):

I graduated December 2010 with my BBA/MBA in Accounting, and having interned in each of the two summers before, I was immediately hired upon graduating. My brother, who's a couple years younger than me but was a senior at the time (I got held back in Kindergarten -- I know, I know: "Little dharocks, what's 1+1?" "Jell-O?"), ended up withdrawing from his school at the same time, literally 4 classes short of graduating.

His explanation was that he planned to save himself some dough by taking those classes online. It was a reasonable enough explanation to keep my parents from kicking him out of the house, especially since they were letting me live at home while studying for the CPA exam, but here's the thing: he hasn't actually been taking the classes online. After pressing him numerous times on the issue, it turns out one of the classes he needs is a core curriculum capstone only offered at his school, and only offered on campus. He knew this, and the fact is he just decided he didn't want to go to school anymore. For one more freaking semester. I truly doubt that he'll ever get his diploma.

So in the last 15 months, he hasn't been working, he hasn't been taking classes, he's been sitting around playing Xbox, smoking weed and draining his savings account. He somehow managed to defer his loan payments, so I guess he's done one productive thing in that time. :rolleyes: