1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Jeff Bagwell

Discussion in 'Other Sports' started by BobFinn*, Aug 16, 2000.

1. BobFinn*

BobFinn* Contributing Member

Jeff Bagwell, Houston Astros
    I'm tired of hearing about juiced balls. I've been hearing about it since 1994 when everyone said the ball was definitely juiced. In 1995, it was juiced again, and guess what: It was juiced in 1996, too. Now, it's 2000, and people are cutting baseballs open and trying to find out what's going on. Someone showed me a ball from 1995 and compared it to a ball from 2000, and the seams were different. But wouldn't it be a more fair comparison to take a ball from 2000, stick it in the same place and look at it in five years? You kind of get tired of hearing all of it. I understand that a lot of home runs are being hit, but there are a lot of factors that go into it, and I really don't think the ball is juiced. I just don't see that. You still have to hit the ball, the ball still spins and guys are still throwing hard.

I do believe that because there are 30 teams, there are a lot of jobs out there and there are a lot guys who probably shouldn't be in the big leagues. I also believe that the athlete of today is bigger and stronger. I don't see how people can deny that.

Henry Aaron, Mickey Mantle and Willie Mays were my size or smaller. Now, you have people like Mark McGwire and Ken Griffey Jr. and Alex Rodriguez -- big guys with good swings. The ballparks are a lot smaller, they're made for hitters now, but there were some tiny ballparks back then, too. If you can pitch and you have good stuff, you're going to get outs.