1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Good read, How (and Why) Athletes Go Broke

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by deepblue, Mar 19, 2009.

1. deepblue

deepblue Member

Long read, but very interesting, and that 250k was the best investment Dikembe ever made.

link

2. GotGame15

GotGame15 Member

damnn that is a high rate, 60%. My profession is in finance/accounting, if i had the salary of what the least paid player in any of those leagues had for just a few seasons, i would be rich beyond my dreams and set for life cuz i would know how to use it lol. I dont know whether to chuckle at them or get sad...but ya, good read.

3. TexasFight

TexasFight Member

Great read.

Made me wonder about myself in that situation too. I like to think that I'd handle all of my own finances, like I do today.

But with the hectic traveling schedule and constant demands on their times, pro athletes can't review every bill and statement (like I currently do) and make their own payments.

I can do this because I work in front of a computer for 8-12 hours a day. Pro athletes do not.

I figure that if I was in their shoes - I'd have to trust a financial adviser to handle all of my finances too. And it seems like you can't trust anyone these days.

My question is - why not ask the owner of your team (a billionaire) for some advice on good investment firms - though, like i said, you really can't trust anyone anymore.

4. Lil Pun

Lil Pun Contributing Member

I'm going to save this for tomorrow. I usually need something to waste my Friday afternoons on. :)

5. pgabriel

pgabriel Educated Negro

I seriously doubt it.

6. bobrek

bobrek Politics belong in the D & D

Minimum NFL salary for 2008 was $295,000.