1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

For the Lawyers: Why are so Many of Trumps Conspirators Lawyers

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout: Debate & Discussion' started by rocketsjudoka, Aug 14, 2023.

1. rocketsjudoka

rocketsjudoka Contributing Member
    Supporting Member

I'm not a lawyer but this is a profession I've been very interested in and thought about going into. One thing I've noticed recently is that there does appear to be a real problem with ethics in the profession. "Lawyerly ethics" might be an oxymoron to many but having known many lawyers I do know it is a concern for many and a major topic in law school. Yet we've seen recently many in profession simply abandon ethics to appease their client or they themselves pushing unethical schemes out of partisanship.

At the sametime we see the highest legal positions of the land also ethically compromise themselves from the largesse of wealthy benefactors, some of who who actually have cases before the court. I can see why lawyers might not feel so bound by ethics when they see USSC Justices behaving unethically and basically saying they can police themselves.

While the Op-ed is focussed on Trump's lawyers I don't want to make this a purely partisan issue as I've heard from lawyers or those with law degrees from the Left also put up questionable legal theories. Also the Michael Avenattis and Jon Edwards of the world show that the lack of lawyer ethics is a problem across the political spectrum.

As a non lawyer what are groups like the US Bar Association doing about this? What is being taught in law schools? What I'm seeing a lot is battles of legal philosophy between the Turleys and Tribes regarding ideology but less about discussions of ethics in the profession themselves.