1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Call Of Duty and the Use of The 'N' Word

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by don grahamleone, May 10, 2014.

?

Call of Duty and the Use of The 'N' Word

1. I occasionally use the 'N' word while I play online games

17 vote(s)
    35.4%
  2. I cannot and choose not to use that word online, ever

31 vote(s)
    64.6%
  1. don grahamleone

don grahamleone Contributing Member

I am completely new to Call Of Duty online and I'm shocked how many people are using the N word towards their opponents. I was born in 1979 and am a child of parents that saw what hate did to the community and the N word was banned in the household. To the point that it was never even voiced as being banned. It was as if the word did not exist. I never once heard either of my parents use the word. My grandparents were not allowed to use it in front of us children, according to Mom, and I heard it few times growing up, even from strangers. It was always a shock to my system when I did hear it.

I am from Louisiana, a traditionally racist state, but even still, rarely heard the word. I cannot help but think that this country and this world is becoming racist again, even after our African-American brothers fought hard for equality. This is mainly based on anonymous online gaming chat rooms and microphones used during those online games.

Call of Duty is certainly not the only offender, but it is what I've experienced most frequently, as of late.

I have a few questions and would like to hear any discussion you might have. I am going to post an anonymous poll, but if you have an opinion beyond the poll, please let me know if you feel the same way, am I being too sensitive, is the word non-offensive, etc.

2. Kim

Kim Contributing Member