1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Anti-Discrimination Laws

Discussion in 'Other Sports' started by dylan, Aug 27, 2000.

1. dylan

dylan Contributing Member

I've been wanting to start a topic about this for a little while now, and the recent Dodgers talk has finally given me the impetus needed.

I'd like to inititiate some discussion on a topic everyone deals with but few actually think about on a daily basis. The topic is this: Are anti-discrimination laws just?

The questions seems obvious but can lead to some interesting thoughts. If I am a private business owner, under what right can the government tell me who I must hire with MY money? If I am the chancellor at a private university, who is the government to tell me who I must admit to MY school? I don't believe government has that right to affect private institutions.

If you are talking about public institutions, there MUST be anti-discrimination laws. I do not believe public universities should be allowed to admit only white students, or only straight students, or only men even. The same standard applies to governmental offices and programs. The post office should not be able to discriminate, and neither should local police and fire fighting offices.

I hear you asking, "But dylan, if private businesses are allowed to discriminate won't they actually do so?"