1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Zhaire Smith

Discussion in 'NBA Draft' started by BigMaloe, Jun 13, 2018.

1. BigMaloe

BigMaloe Contributing Member

I like this kid. I’m no pro scout that’s for sure but I like him and think he will be a top 5-8 player from this draft.

He’s currently projected towards the backend of the lottery to 20ish.

I can see him outperform his draft a lot similarly to how Donovan Mitchell did. Not the same type of player or have the same impact necessarily but rather be the player not highly publicized and blows up and becoming very good-great.

Anyone have any thoughts on this guy? @basketballholic you study him yet? @D-rock , you seem to study younger guys.

I’m having a hard time thinking of a player comparison also.

2. D-rock

D-rock Member

Zhaire Smith is moving up draft boards Mo, hes no longer such a well kept secret.

I've seen him compared to Wes Matthews, Danny Green and JR Smith.

He plays D like Marcus Smart but his O is more like Nick Johnson. Hyper-athletic but only 6-4 in shoes with not much of a shot and no skills to play point.

His upside could be a more explosive Avery Bradley.

Raider17 and BigMaloe like this.
  3. BigMaloe

BigMaloe Contributing Member

Maybe I’m just blinding myself by his amazing motor?

He just seems to always be moving. On offense, in transition, on defense, on loose balls, on rebounds; he just goes after it.

He seems like he has potential to be a secondary ball handler. Not really ever a main guy in that respect.

His shooting seems to be his weak spot, but when he is set his shot looks steady enough and fluid, although the release is slow. But shooting has always been regarded as the easiest thing to teach.