1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Beyond Kazaa...anyone subscribe?

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by GATER, Jul 22, 2003.

Tags:
  1. GATER

GATER Contributing Member

First, can we please keep the legal, moral and ethical aspects of downloading MP3's out of this discussion? I am old enough to have large quantities of vinyl laying around and I just want to get rid of it all. I paid (dearly) for it in the first place and just want to "modernize" it. Thanks.

Secondly, being a musician I have always had diverse but unique tastes in music (think obscure R&B, blues and jazz). Although I do need some of the more mainstream "pop" or "classic rock" stuff that is on Kazaa there is a lot which I am unable to find.

Is anyone here familiar with subscription downloading services? (Not the 99 cent/month current "pop" stuff, I mean mass quantities of older, obscure stuff). I have found something that looks promising and the site allows you to search in advance. They seem to have a lot of the songs I'm looking to replace the vinyl with. But I am leary that once I buy a years subscription, I may be disappointed once I actually get inside.

I'm not sure Clutch will allow me to do this but here's the link:

http://www.easymusicdownload.com

Anyone have any experiences to share or advice about subscription services?

2. Rockets2K

Rockets2K Clutch Crew

the best place to find old or obscure songs online is to get a newsreader and connect to Usenet. go to the alt.binaries.sounds.mp3 hiearchy.

THere are several different decade groups and style groups.
    If you dont see what you are looking for, post a request and someone will post it eventually.

Thats the only downfall to newsgroups...it requires patience to find what you need.

3. GATER

R2K -